Introduced By: GAP Chair Vasquez
Sponsored By: Vice-Chair Varela, Vice

Chair Gaudio, Vice Chair Gumerov, Disability Caucus Chair Johnson, Chair Hameed, Chair Courts, Chair Beneche

Contact: sgagap@ucf.edu
First Reading: February 20, 2025
Committee Action: Passed 10-0-1
Second Reading: February 27, 2025;

Passed 38-0-0

**Third Reading:** March 6, 2025 **Final Vote:** Passed 39-0-0



## University of Central Florida Fifty-Sixth Student Body Senate Resolution 56-15

[Resolution to Advocate for the Expansion of Programs Eligible for the STEM Tuition Waiver]

**WHEREAS**, Senate Rule 2.04(D)(1) states the Governmental Affairs and Policy (GAP) Committee shall pass measures pertaining to local, state, or federal government affairs;

WHEREAS, Article 2.05(C) of the Student Body Constitution states that the Student Body Senate shall express the will and sentiments of the Student Body Senate through legislation;

WHEREAS, A STEM major is described as a degree program in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields;

WHEREAS, The STEM Waiver was made effective Fall 2021 by the Florida Board of Governors;

WHEREAS, The Board of Governors is comprised of seventeen members, fourteen of whom are appointed by the Florida Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of seven years. The remaining members include the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates, the Commissioner of Education, and the Chair of the Florida Student Association. The Board oversees the operation and management of the Florida public university system's twelve institutions;

WHEREAS, Students eligible for the waiver shall receive a tuition and fees waiver for an equivalent course as defined in the Florida Statues, Title XLVIII, K-20 Education Code, Chapter 1009 Educational Scholarships, Fees, and Financial Assistance, 1009.26(18)(a) Fee Waivers;

**WHEREAS**, Eligibility is determined by programs chosen by members of the Board of Governors, called Programs of Strategic Emphasis or teacher appreciation programs;

WHEREAS, No graduate programs are currently eligible for the waiver;

WHEREAS, Waiver is only eligible for students' first bachelor's degree, and is not applicable for double majors;

WHEREAS, The programs that currently qualify for the STEM Waiver are Accounting (BSBA), Computer Science (BS), Civil Engineering (BSCE), Computer Engineering (BSCpE), Electrical Engineering (BSEE), Elementary Education (BS), Finance (BSBA), Information Technology (BS), Mathematics (BS), Mechanical Engineering (BSME), Physics (BA)/Physics (BS), Exceptional Student Education (BS);

**WHEREAS**, Students currently majoring in Physics (BA) or Physics (BS) will still qualify for waiver until they graduate or withdraw from the program;

**WHEREAS**, For the 2023-2024 school year, 1,301 students were awarded bachelor's degrees in the programs eligible for the STEM waiver, which covered 8% of UCF graduates;

WHEREAS, STEM-focused programs that do not currently qualify for the STEM waiver are Aerospace Engineering (BSAE), Construction Engineering (BSConE), Environmental Engineering (BSVE), Industrial Engineering (BSIE), Materials Science and Engineering (BS), General Health Studies (BS), Health Sciences (BS), Kinesiology (BS), Biomedical Sciences (BS), Biotechnology (BS), Molecular and Cellular Biology (BS), Nursing (BSN), Photonic Science and Engineering (BSPSE), Actuarial Science (BS), Biology (BS), Chemistry (BS), Data Science (BS), Forensic Science (BS), Integrated Sciences and Technology (BS), Physics (BS), Psychology (BS), Social Sciences (BS), Environmental Science (BS), and Statistics (BS);

**WHEREAS**, In the 2023-2024 school year, 6,941 students were awarded bachelor's degrees in STEM-focused programs that do not qualify for the STEM waiver, which covered 47% of UCF graduates; and

**WHEREAS**, The GAP Committee is expressing the need to extend the eligibility of the STEM waiver, by collaborating with UCF's lobbying firm, Grey Robinson.

**THEREFORE**, **BE IT RESOLVED**, That it is the opinion of the Fifty-Sixth Student Senate of the University of Central Florida that the programs eligible for the STEM waiver should be extended to students under the aforementioned programs, described as "STEM-focused" programs, by the Florida Board of Governors.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to Government and Community Relations Staff, Vice-President Janet Owens, Senior Associate Vice-President Fred Kittinger, Associate Vice President-Federal Tubby Shwedo, Executive Assistant Sharon Whitley, Program Manager Alison Schultz, and Coordinator Austin Wilson, University President Alexander Cartwright, Office of the President members, Director of Governance Operations Carmen Jarquin, and Deputy Chief of Staff of External Affairs & Community Relations Bridget Keefe, members of the Board of Governors, including, Ashley Bell Barnett, Timothy M. Cerio, Manny Diaz, Jr, Aubrey Edge, Patricia Frost, Edward Haddock, Carson Good, John Brinkman, Ken Jones, Brian Lamb, Alan Levine, Charles H. Lydecker, Craig Mateer, Jose Oliva, Amanda J. Phalin, Eric Silagy, Grey Robinson representatives, Christopher L. Carmody, Jr, and Kylee Anzueto.

**AUTHORIZING SIGNATURES** 

Allison Pohlmann Senate President

3/10/2025

Date

Danishka Morissette
Senate President Pro Tempore

03/25/2025

Date