Introduced By: GAP Chair Vasquez
Sponsored By: Vice-Chair Varela, E&A

Chair Escobar

Chair Metellus, Chair Courts, Chair Beneche, Senator Rubin, Senator

Smith

Inter-Campus and Transfer

Caucus

Contact: Sgagap@ucf.edu
First Reading: February 20, 2025
Committee Action: Passed 11-0-1
Second Reading: February 27, 2025;

Passed 37-0-0

**Third Reading:** March 6, 2025 **Final Vote:** Passed 39-0-0



## University of Central Florida Fifty-Sixth Student Body Senate Resolution 56-14

[Resolution Advocating for the Implementation of Toll Relief Measures for Commuter Students]

WHEREAS, Senate Rule 2.04(D)(1) states the Governmental Affairs and Policy (GAP) Committee shall pass measures pertaining to local, state, or federal government affairs;

**WHEREAS**, Article 2.05(C) of the Student Body Constitution states that the Student Body Senate shall express the will and sentiments of the Student Body Senate through legislation;

WHEREAS, Toll passes in Florida include SunPass, E-Pass, E-ZPass, and BestPass. SunPass being the most affordable option in the state:

**WHEREAS**, The operator of SunPass is the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), which is led by the State's Secretary of Transportation, who is appointed by the State Governor;

**WHEREAS**, Toll relief program: Each transponder with 35 or more paid transactions that occur within a calendar month automatically receives a 50% toll credit;

**WHEREAS**, There are no rebates on transponders in Orange County. (Rebate: Special discount plans that may have requirements for residency, vehicle occupancy, number-of-trips or time-of-day restrictions);

WHEREAS, About 12,280 students lived on-campus, or at campus affiliated housing, of the 69,818 enrolled students. It can be assumed that the 57,538 students that do not live on campus are commuter students, reported in 2023;

WHEREAS, In UCF's Cost of Attendance, it is estimated that students spend about \$2,126 on transportation alone;

**WHEREAS**, Driving to the Rosen campus from the Main Campus, taking the fastest route, is about 30 miles or about 35 minutes (low traffic), costs \$4.11 in tolls one-way, \$8.22 both ways;

**WHEREAS**, Driving to Downtown Campus, from Main Campus, taking the fastest route, is about 18 miles, about 26 minutes (low traffic), costs \$2.28 in tolls, one-way, \$4.56 both ways;

WHEREAS, Valencia College is home to over 70,000 students, as of 2022, 56% of which reside in Orange County;

**WHEREAS**, 50% of Valencia students are reported to take at least one in-person class, meaning it can be assumed that about 35,000 students are commuter students;

**WHEREAS**, About 7,000 students take in person classes at Seminole State College, therefore, it can be assumed that all are commuter students;

WHEREAS, There is a clear need for commuter students to have accommodations made for them, in the form of Toll Relief, as an attempt to make College more accessible to students in the state of Florida; and

WHEREAS, The GAP Committee is expressing this need by collaborating with UCF's lobbying firm, Grey Robinson.

**THEREFORE**, **BE IT RESOLVED**, That it is the opinion of the Fifty-Sixth Student Senate of the University of Central Florida that there be an implementation of Toll Relief specifically for commuter college students, in an effort to make the college experience more accessible, these changes made by the Florida Department of Transportation;

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to That a copy of this Resolution be sent to University President Alexander Cartwright, Office of the President members, Vice President of Student Success and Well-Being Adrienne Frame, Director of Governance Operations Carmen Jarquin, and Deputy Chief of Staff of External Affairs & Community Relations Bridget Keefe, Government and Community Relations Staff, Vice-President Janet Owens, Senior Associate Vice-President Fred Kittinger, Associate Vice President-Federal Tubby Shwedo, Executive Assistant Sharon Whitley, Program Manager Alison Schultz, and Coordinator Austin Wilson, Grey Robinson representatives, Christopher L. Carmody, Jr, and Kylee Anzueto, members of the Florida

Department of Transportation, including Comptroller Jason Adank, Legislative Program Director Jack Rogers, Interim Policy Planning Director Dana Reiding, Research Center Manager Daryll Dockstader, and Florida State Governor Ron DeSantis.

**AUTHORIZING SIGNATURES** 

Allison Pohlmann Senate President

allison Pohlman

3/10/2025

Date

Danishka Morissette Senate President Pro Tempore

03/25/2025

Date